InnoVision 18th Annual Technology Awards

InnoVision 18th Annual Technology Awards

InnoVision celebrates innovation at the 18th Annual Technology Awards and names numerous South Carolina entities award winners.

Greenville, South Carolina — November 4, 2016 – Ravi Sastry, Vice President of Sales and Marketing for Immedion, LLC and the Chair of the InnoVision Board of Directors, is pleased to recognize the following entities for their accomplishments and award-winning status presented at the 18th Annual InnoVision Awards Celebration on Thursday, November 3rd. The annual event was held at the Hyatt Regency in Greenville, South Carolina.

The Young Innovator Award, named in honor of Dr. Ibrahim Janajreh, was presented to two students from the Center for Advanced Technical Studies under the leadership of their Project Lead The Way instructor Julie Krusen. Currently freshmen at Clemson and Duke studying Biochemistry and Biomedical Engineering, the team developed a Progressive Feeding Utensil for Individuals who have neuromuscular disabilities.

Zverse (Columbia, SC), received the Technology Development Award, for their LAYR technology, which is a revolutionary software that readily analyzes and converts 2D images into 3D printable content.

Milliken & Company (Spartanburg, SC) earned the nod from the independent judging committee for the Technology Integration Award, for their Milliguard UVX200 HF product. Milliguard is a novel, reactive UV absorber that allows the polyurethane industry to reduce UV absorption while improving indoor air quality.

SC Future Minds (Florence, SC) received the Education Award, for developing a branded, digital “Donate Now” button for school websites across the state. Their innovation provides an easy way for public schools to solicit on-line donations for students and teachers.

The Small Enterprise Award, was awarded to Cognito Forms (Columbia, SC). Cognito Forms is an intuitive, user-friendly online document builder that enables companies all over the world to create sophisticated and complex forms for the best value!

SMARTVISTA (Spartanburg, SC) has repurposed reclaimed fibers into a Rapid Deployment absorbent media. SpillArmor absorbent barrier can be deployed in 30 seconds and requires no more training than is necessary to work a fire extinguisher. SMARTVISTA was the recipient of the Sustainability Award.

Pursuit Alert (Pickens, SC) received first place in the Community Service category for their development of a patented, state of the art mobile warning system to alert motorists and civilians of the danger of an active law enforcement pursuit or emergency response.

Each year, InnoVision also honors an individual in the State of South Carolina with the Dr. Charles Townes Individual Lifetime Achievement Award. This award recognizes an individual who exhibits a commitment to the advancement of technology and the community through his/her technology-oriented contributions. Past recipients of the Dr. Charles Townes Individual Lifetime Achievement Award include; Dr. Larry Gluck, GHS Cancer Center; Jerry Barber, Roger Milliken and Tom Strange.

The 2016 Dr. Charles Townes Individual Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Mr. Dennis Hayes, who in 1977 decided to improve the business use of the growing personal computer market. As a young man who was always fascinated with high technology, Mr. Hayes and his best friend Dale Heatherington built the first computer modem; a 300 bit per second device that connects computers by telephone, and started a communications revolution.

Mr. Sastry would also like to acknowledge the independent judges who include, Don Ross, Ph.D., MBA, Innovare, Inc.; Brad Tompkins; VM User Group; Elizabeth Newcomb- Hopfer; Valentina Trinetta; Kansas State University; and Kevin Andrews, NineSigma for their valuable expertise and service.


Celebrating Excellence. Honoring Distinction. Applauding Innovation.

South Carolina’s premier organization dedicated to the advancement of technology.